We Don’t Want To Be Included. We Want To Be Equal. | Nova Sankofa

201401031820

This should go without saying, but inclusion is not equality. If I had a nickel for every time I saw my Black brothers and sisters online, on television, or in magazines, in an outrage for not being included – I’d have enough to buy 40 acres and a mule. They say they want equality, but equality isn’t winning awards given out by Whites, being on television shows created by Whites, or not being included on a list of recognition constructed by Whites. Equality would be having our own outlets to better represent ourselves (we have a few).

Malcolm X said:

If you can’t do it for yourself, what the white man is doing for himself, don’t say you’re equal with the white man. If you can’t set up a factory like he sets up a factory don’t talk that old equality talk.”

I agree wholeheartedly. Equality isn’t us being able to play in a game they created, or to be a part of movements they created. We can fight and fight to be included (still not equal), and if we are finally let in, we still won’t be seen as equals. If anything, it will build animosity and/or have us looked at in pity, as charity cases. I don’t want to be pitied, I want to be respected.

Imagine yourself on the sideline of a basketball court all day. On this sideline, you’re watching Michael Jordan in his prime playing one on one basketball with all worthy contenders and beating them. You watch him as he plays against Dominique Wilkins, Reggie Miller, and Joe Dumars, all people who have earned their respect on their own basketball courts to play against him. Then you, the spectator, walks on the court and challenges Michael Jordan. You very well could be a better ball player than him, even though he doesn’t know it. Instead of you going to a different court and earning your own name and becoming a known contender, you whine and talk about how you’ve been watching him all day and deserve a shot. If he accepts your challenge, you still aren’t seen as equal to him or his other contenders. You didn’t earn equality, you only earned inclusion. Even if you win, you don’t win, because others will say you didn’t earn it, you were pitied. If you win, they most likely will say “he let you win to make things fair”. You may beat him, but it will still be his court and you still don’t have one of your own. What is fair? What is equality? What is inclusion?

I, Nova Sankofa, don’t want to be included. I want to be equal. I want to be equal in every way. You will never see me or anyone who thinks similarly to me in the cold, picketing to the White man to be hired and used by a job he created. You will never see me attach myself to a movement not designed for me to only cry to them because I’m being treated unfairly in that movement. You will never see me cry about schools being closed down that only poison our childrens’ minds with eurocentric and White supremacist teachings anyway. You will see me trying to align myself with others to create our own jobs that sustain our communities and families. You will see me working with other people and organizations that have my best interests at heart and I don’t have to compromise my integrity for. You will see me trying in each and every way to diversify curriculums being taught in schools and eventually creating our own schools.

WE DON’T WANT TO BE INCLUDED. WE WANT TO BE EQUAL.

Peace.

Nova Sankofa

www.NovaGiovanni.com

This is Part 2

201312111521

21 responses to “We Don’t Want To Be Included. We Want To Be Equal. | Nova Sankofa

  1. Reblogged this on Berna's Vibe~The Way I See IT and commented:
    INclusion is NOT equality..I wish more people understood this sentiment..Alot of us want to be equal..And likewise want our sons, (namely moi..) to be considered on their own MERIT & not held back or feared due simply cause of their skin color. Hear, hear! >>Re-blogged by Berna from the Nova Sankofa blog**

  2. Hello this is kind of of off topic but I was wanting to know
    if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding experience so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience.
    Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  3. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Many
    thanks, However I am having problems with your RSS.
    I don’t understand why I cannot join it. Is there anyone else getting the
    same RSS problems? Anyone who knows the answer will you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

  4. My developer is trying to persuade me to move to
    .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on a number of websites for about
    a year and am concerned about switching to another platform.
    I have heard excellent things about blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I can import all my wordpress content into it?

    Any kind of help would be really appreciated!

  5. Greetings! Very useful advice in this particular post!
    It’s the little changes which will make the most significant changes.
    Thanks a lot for sharing!

  6. Today, I went to the beach wikth my children. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4
    year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to her ear and
    screamed. There was a hermit crab insjde and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants tto go back! LoL Iknow this iss completely off
    topic but I had to tell someone!

  7. Good post. I learn something new and challenging on blogs
    I stumbleupon everyday. It’s always useful to read through articles from other writers and practice
    a little something from other web sites.

  8. I seldom leave a response, however after looking at some of the responses here We Dont Want To Be Included.
    We Want To Be Equal. | Nova Sankofa | Nova Sankofa…
    formerly Nova Giovanni. I actually do have 2 questions for you if you do
    not mind. Could it be simply me or does it give the impression like some of these remarks come across like they are coming from brain dead individuals? :-P And, if you are posting on other social sites, I’d like
    to keep up with anything fresh you have to post. Could
    you list of the complete urls of your social networking pages like
    your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  9. Hi to every body, it’s my first pay a quick visit of this website; this web site carries awesome and actually excellent information in support of visitors.

  10. Would it, using only steam and water, clean my tile floors.

    This is a nice feature since constantly having to push a trigger
    can be tiresome. Once you have amassed a collection of items ready to be purged from your house, consider donation rather than dumping.

  11. Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your blog.
    You have some really good posts and I believe I
    would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of
    the load off, I’d love to write some material for your
    blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please blast me an email if interested. Many thanks!

  12. I’m not sure where you are getting your information, but great topic.

    I needs to spend some time learning much more or
    understanding more. Thanks for great information I was looking
    for this info for my mission.

Leave a Reply

